Arnica Quartet - Bartók First Quartet rehearsal excerpts
3 Mar 2013
Arnica String Quartet: March Music Moderne 2013 From a Finnish composer in Los Angeles, to an Argentinian composer in Boston, this concert by the Arnica String Quartet spans the globe and two centuries in bringing together four great works for string quartet. Esa Pekka Salonen's "Homunculus" for string quartet, written in 2007 for the Johannes Quartet, is a 12 minute condensation of ideas for a huge string quartet - much like its namesake, the "little man" that was believed to be contained within every sperm cell in the middle ages - it contains all of the compositional DNA necessary for a large-scale composition. Osvaldo Golijov's 2002 work "Tenebrae" is a dark and mysterious work that ruminates on beauty, death, darkness, religion, spirituality, and pain. Arvo Pärt, the mystic composer of Estonia, wrote the first version of "Fratres" in 1977. It has since been arranged for many different combinations of ensembles and solo instruments. The most famous version - made popular by the
<April 2021>

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Arnica String Quartet to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.

Websites and Mobile Apps Powered by InstantEncore